Bob the Painter

31 octobre 2011

  There is a series of little articles that I have been meaning to post for a while and if I keep up the impetus I’ll get them on line in the next few days.

I’ll start with Bob Bryant. Bob is a marine artist living in the north-west of the USA. His style is very realist, he works from photographs: his own and the work of other photographers. He has just finished a painting inspired by one of my recent photographs. He liked the photo of the four 15Mjs together that I posted after the Monaco classics week and as soon as I gave him the OK produced this work in a couple of weeks.

  Il y a une série de petits articles que je songe à faire depuis un moment. Si j’ai encore le courage, je les mettrai pendant les prochains jours.

Je commence avec Bob Bryant. Bob est un artiste maritime qui travaille avec un style très réaliste à partir de photographies : les siennes et celles d’autres photographes. Il vient de terminer un tableau inspiré d’une de mes photos prise récemment à Monaco . Quand j’ai posté l’image des quatre 15Mjs ensemble pendant la Classic Week, Bob l’aimait tellement qu’il m’a demandé s’il pourrait en faire un tableau; deux semaines plus tard, le voilà!

  Le titre du tableau est « Four Fifteens in the Afternoon », un jeu de mots sur la classe des yachts et l’heure. The Lady Anne est au premier plan et les autres sont, de gauche à droite : Hispania, Tuiga et Mariska.

  The title Bob’s painting is « Four Fifteens in the Afternoon ». The Lady Anne is the most prominent 15 Mj in the picture, the others being from left to right Hispania, Tuiga and Mariska.

  Le premier tableau que Bob a fait à partir d’une de mes photos est « Canvas Cathedrals » : une image d’un jeune marin escaladant le gréement de Juan Sebastian de Elcano, le grand voilier espagnol. Voici le tableau de Bob avec ma photo à droite :

  The first painting Bob did from one of my photos was « Canvas Cathedrals », a shot of a young sailor climbing the rig of the Spanish tall ship Juan Sebastion de Elcano.

Here is Bob’s painting with my photo on the right:

 

Laisser un commentaire

