Applied Stability for a Marine Photographer

13 décembre 2011

  When I wrote Bob the Painter I stated that I had a few articles that have been waiting in line, here’s the next one:

Those familiar with my marine work will realise that I get into to some fairly delicate positions to obtain the image I want. In order to stabilise myself and have both hands free to concentrate on the viewfinder image or simply to stay on board sometimes, I have been using a harness for several years.  Climbing masts in a boatswain’s chair is not a particularly reassuring experience, so I decided to start using a mountaineering harness at sea as well as when rock climbing, something I’ve been dabbling in some twenty years. This year I replaced my ageing Petzl rock climbers’ model for a Spinlock Mast Pro that is evolved from the climbing range, but with the sailors use more in mind. This is also ideal for a marine photographer, with its extra wide thigh bands, you can comfortably sit in it at the masthead of a yacht while the crew leave you to it and get on with winning the race. Once the belt adjusting system is broken in, adjustment and tightening of the waistband with its stainless steel buckles is rapid and easy. My thanks to Interdist of St Malo, the French agent for Spinlock.

  Quand j’ai écrit Bob the Painter, j’ai dit que c’était le premier de plusieurs articles auxquels je pense depuis un moment, donc , voilà le suivant :

Ceux qui connaissent mon œuvre maritime doivent se rendre compte que je me mets parfois dans des positions délicates pour atteindre l’image que je cherche. Afin de me stabiliser et avoir les deux mains libres pour pouvoir me concentrer sur l’image dans le viseur, ou tout simplement afin de rester à bord, j’utilise depuis un certain temps un harnais. Montant dans la mâture avec une chaise de gabier est une expérience pas trop rassurante, donc j’ai commencé à utiliser en mer le harnais d’escalade  que j’utilisais sur les rochers. Cette année j’ai remplacé mon harnais d’escalade Petzl vieillissant  par un autre plus adapté à la vie en mer : un Spinlock Mast Pro. Avec ses supports de cuisses bien larges on peut rester tranquillement en tête de mât d’un voilier pendant que l’équipage se concentre sur la régate en cours. La gamme de harnais Spinlock est inspirée des modèles pour la montagne mais utilise des matériaux capables de résister au milieu marin. Citons par exemple les boucles du système de réglage de la taille qui sont en inox de très haut calibre. Avec mes remerciement à Interdist, de St Malo, l’importateur de Spinlock pour la France

In the mast of Zaca A Te Moana during the Monaco Classic Week, my thanks to my colleague James Robinson Taylor for the photos

*******

In action on board the sinagot Eulalie during the Semaine du Golfe de Morbihan, my thanks to Mathilde, the daughter of my press boat pilot Olivier Dupont

Laisser un commentaire